Reading List

7 05 2009

I shared way back in March (why does that seem like eons ago?!) what I was reading. You can also see that list down and to the right…

Well, since I am starting my training to become a certified doula, I have a big ol reading list.

So, I went to our libraries website and reserved some books. This is what I currently am reading through –

Getting to Yes: Negotiating Agreement Without Giving In by Fisher and Ury. This one is to help deal with those pesky doctors who want to intervene so they can make tee time…or get home for breakfast…or whatever ‘better’ thing they have planned.

Spiritual Midwifery by Ina May Gaskin. This is more for those who have a desire to seek out their CNM license…I don’t but, I still think I’ll find it interesting!

Heart & Hands by Elizabeth Davis. Another one geared toward midwives, but, see above πŸ™‚

Mothering the Mother: How a Doula Can Help You Have a Shorter, Easier, and Healthier Birth by Klaus, Kennell and Klaus. Title says it all πŸ™‚ Mine helped me! πŸ˜‰

There are a couple on the list that I read in preparing for my VBAC that I can’t wait to read again.

The Birth Partner by Simkin

Birthing From Within: An Extra-Ordinary Guide to Childbirth Preperation by England and Horowitz

The Thinking Woman’s Guide to a Better Birth by Heidi Goer

Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth by Ina May Gaskin

Any of the ones I’ve already read, I would HIGHLY recommend to any one pregnant or thinking about trying! It is NEVER too early to think about the birth you desire!

Actions

Information

4 responses

7 05 2009
Marci

Ok, so I’m not reading these yet, but since I work at a library, I hear a lot about books. Thought I’d share some with you:
Good for pregnancies:
-What to Expect Before You’re Expecting by Heidi Murkoff and Sharon Mazel
-Feed the Belly by Frances Largeman-Roth
-Your Best Birth by Ricki Lake and Abby Epstein

If B’s showing signs of wheat issues, you might want to look into Celiac Disease- my mom has it (has had it for years but it’s been largely undiagnosed until the past 2-3 years by most doctors). There’s a new book Celiac Disease: A Hidden Epidemic by Peter H. R. Green that’s supposed to be really good.
This one’s geared towards kids with Autism spectrum disorders, but again, it might be something to look into if B is indeed experiencing wheat issues (even though they are not associated with Autism): Getting Your Kid on a Gluten-Free Casein-Free Diet by Susan Lord.

I plan to read several of these when they actually arrive at the library just to be in the know. If you read any of them, please let me know what you think!

8 05 2009
Whitney

Do you know the name of the book Shanna had? I think it was “The Birth Partner” but I’m not certain. I’m praying that God will bless us with another child and if He does I would really like to have that book!

8 05 2009
Phronsie

You could try giving B some Rice Chex, they’re gluten free.

12 05 2009
terrajones

Hey ladies! I’m so sorry! Somehow my comment ‘moderation’ button got un checked and I had NO idea people were responding! ack!

Marci – I did read “what to expect” when i was pregnant with Keaton, I honestly wouldn’t recommend it to anyone. ever. ((another post for another time, lol!)) I haven’t heard of Feed the Belly – I will add that to the list (the post-reading for certification list, lol)…And I WANT to read Your Best Birth so bad! And re: the wheat issues – I do not think/feel that it’s Celiac’s. When I saw that rash come up, of course the WORST thoughts went through my head! I did a small bit of research (it was like a week before our move or something, lol) and from the ‘signs/symptoms’, really think it’s just a wheat intolerance. Since he doesn’t eat much other than fruits & veggies right now, it’s so hard to tell! But, thank you for passing along those titles too! I will definitely jot them down for future reference, as you never know!

Whitney – I don’t know what book Shanna had. I borrowed a couple books from Faye, but none from Shanna, since we didn’t “confirm” her until about3 weeks before B was due. I know she was doing her training through DONA and they have a similar reading list to ALACE (ALACE has more books geared towards midwifery) …and you know that is my prayer for you too πŸ™‚ You are an amazing mommy, I can tell that from all the way over here! πŸ˜€

Phronsie – I will check into the Rice Chex! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

